…And then I ate a box of Good N Plenty

I just polished this off:

That’s not really the best picture, is it?  But it’s all gone now, so there’s nothing any of us can do about it, is there?

This is a totally simple dish.  And one I actually have (most) measurements for.  It’s an Easter miracle!

Things you need:

  • 1 c couscous, uncooked
  • 1 c water
  • 1 can chickpeas (or garbanzo beans, if you prefer.  I don’t.), drained and rinsed
  • 1 avocado, cut into cubes
  • 1 can tuna, drained
  • 1/2 c olive oil
  • 1/2 c vinegar (I use white wine)
  • dill and salt to taste (I consider seasonings very subjective and also optional, use what you have, use what you like)

Boil your water in a large microwave-safe bowl.  Once boiled, stir in your couscous and cover with a dish cloth or paper towel and let it sit for about five minutes or until you remember it.  Fluff it with a fork.  You can drain all that other stuff and slice up your avocados while it’s resting if you like.

Once your couscous is cooked, dump in your chickpeas and tuna.  Stir it up real good.  In a bowl, jar, glass, measuring cup, whatever, mix together your oil, vinegar, and seasonings.  Whisk.  Add avocado and vinaigrette to your couscous and fold in gently.  You don’t want to mash up your avocado.

That’s it.  If you’ve got your ducks in a row, this whole process will probably only take about ten minutes.  And it’s pretty mondo portions.  Great for a picnic or light summer supper.  Although the vinegar does a really good job of keeping the avocado from oxidizing, I would still recommend waiting to add the avocado until you’re ready to serve it.  You can mix the vinaigrette in ahead of time to let all the flavors mingle.  I ate this over the course of three days and the avocado still tasted great, as avocados are want to do, but the presentation was lost.

Now, go forth and make this.  If you’re like some people and you don’t like couscous, by all means make this with quinoa.  I’ve jumped on the quinoa bandwagon, but the bag I bought seemed to have tiny little pieces of plastic in it, and I’ve been a little afraid to try again.  I’ll pick some quinoa and more couscous up from the co-op next time I’m in Northeast.  If I remember.

One thought on “…And then I ate a box of Good N Plenty

Leave a Reply

