I can do anything

It’s really easy to sit around and say “Oh, I should do [fill in the blank]”.  I hear a lot of people say they should diet, or start flossing their teeth, or whatever.  It’s really hard to actually do it.  Unless you set a clear-cut time frame.

I am a self-proclaimed sugar junkie.  If it’s in front of me, I have a really hard time saying no.  Even if it’s something I don’t particularly like.  It’s kind of like the “seefood” diet people joke about.  I will very easily binge on candy, ice cream, donuts…  I knew I needed to stop eating so much, but it just didn’t seem possible.

Until the end of July.  I decided it was seriously time to cut back on my sugar.  I was exercising more than ever and didn’t lose anything other than the tiny bit it took to fit back into my biggest jeans comfortably.  I knew it was due in no small part to my candy consumption.  So I decided I needed to go cold turkey.  Moderation wasn’t going to cut it as I proved incapable of moderating myself.

I gave myself a challenge: No sweets for the entire month of July.  No ice cream, no candy, no cake, no donuts…  I have to say, 16 days in and I’m still going strong.  Which is not to say I don’t crave it.  Immensely.  But for the most part I don’t have a problem watching other people eat treats, unless I’m really stressing.  I’m a total stress eater.

For the first few days my mouth felt what could only be described as… lonely.  I chewed a LOT of gum.  If I wasn’t eating I was chewing gum.  I eventually got over it.  I still crave, but I have gotten over the point where I need to be eating something.  The hardest part was relearning what constituted a snack.  Instead of a chocolate bar, I reach for almonds or fruit.  It’s weird.

I realized that this month-long challenge was a great motivator for me.  So I decided to make a year of it.  Not a year of not eating sweets–frankly that would start to depress the hell out of me.  But a year of doing things I should be doing.  Here’s what I’ve come up it.  I will give progress reports on it all.

August: No Sweets

September: Resume-a-day

October: Purge 5 things a day

November: Etsy listing a day

December: 5 Veggies a day

January: All Aldi

February: Drink 8 cups of water or tea every day

March: Wash all of the day’s dishes that day

April: Run at least 1 mile every day, but at least 3 days need to be more

May: Photograph something every day

June: Try something new every day

July: Answer a writing prompt a day

I honestly think that not eating sweets will be the easiest one to keep up.  Not doing something is always easier than doing something.  But that’s the whole point of this.  We’ll see how the next year pans out.

One thought on “I can do anything

Leave a Reply

