Ni-Ni Sleep Tight: Advice

This would be my dream way to sleep.  Regrettably, seconds after taking this picture, Dragon’s teeth found their way into my arm, and wouldn’t let go.  So, yeah.  That’s not happening.

I am a self-diagnosed insomniac.  Some nights are worse than others.  Most nights these days are better than they ever used to be.  However, I’m really bad at falling asleep when I need to (bed time, naps), but really good when I’m not supposed to: watching a movie, reading a book, driving a car…

Wait…  What?

Yeah.  I had an epiphany last Saturday about falling asleep.  You see, Friday night I got *maybe* five hours of sleep.  I didn’t want to go to bed, even though I needed to be up at 6.  Strike one.  Then I was reminded of the fact that I live on a block where (as The Hippy says) “Everyone on the block is the only person on the block.”  In other words, there was yelling and car door slamming in the street at around 3am.  Strike two.  I made it through a day at work, contemplating taking a nap before driving 1.5 hours north to spend time at the cabin.

I decided I really, really wanted to get up north before it got too dark, so I should just be on my way.  It would be best to be on the road by 4:30.  I was on the road at 4:28.

The drive was scary.  Terrifying, even, as I was afraid to even blink.  I remember the truck jerking at one point, and I couldn’t tell if I’d nodded off or if it was just the heavy wind.  About 45 minutes into my drive, I was coming up on an outlet mall and decided I needed to get the heck off the freeway.

As I sat in the parking lot, reclining in my driver’s seat, I closed my mind and feared my mind would never stop racing and that I would be infinitely annoyed by all the people walking by.  This is one reason I don’t nap–I get frustrated because I’m tired and I thinking I should be sleeping NOW!

After sitting there for a bit, I looked at the clock: 5:30.  “Okay,” I thought, “I’m going to set my iPod alarm for 30 minutes.  I can’t open my eyes for those 30 minutes, no matter what.”  Sure enough, 6:00 rolled in, and I had been sleeping.  Granted, I felt like crap because during that time my truck had become a greenhouse, but I had napped just enough to keep from nodding off again.

I decided to use the same logic again last night when I couldn’t sleep.  Granted, I couldn’t very well set my alarm for a half hour, because the point is to NOT wake up.  But that’s the beauty.  Since I can’t tell if a half hour has passed, I’ll never open my eyes, because I’ll be cheating.  Therefore, before I know it, I’ll be asleep.

If you have trouble sleeping, I urge you to try this.  I’ve tried all the tricks, and this is the only thing that’s worked for me (failing drugging myself).  My logic behind this is that your mind can still think the things it’s going to think, and that’s okay.  Sometime your mind needs to work through things.  Sometimes those thoughts become dreams, and in those dreams our minds figure things out that it wouldn’t have otherwise.  However, when you open your eyes, even just for a second, you jolt your body back to square one in the falling asleep process.

I’m no scientist.  Just a girl who hates tossing and turning and may actually have found a way out.

3 thoughts on “Ni-Ni Sleep Tight: Advice

  1. Rocketdog says:

    I used to do something similar…I’d have the radio on and would keep my eyes closed for a certain number of songs. More often than not, I’d fall asleep.

    Like

    • DK says:

      It seems so simple, like DUH, just close your eyes! But think how many times you find yourself staring at the ceiling or the clock. It’s like eyelid training for the sleep olympics.

      Like

Leave a Reply

