Who doesn’t love tots?

Okay, I know I said I’d post this recipe from my dear friend Marti, like, eons ago, but I appear to not have… what’s that called again?  Oh, yeah, free time.  But I’m sitting around right now, so I figured I’d share this amazing recipe with the world, with my notes on what I do differently…

Shepherd’s Tot Pie

Ingredients:

1 T. olive oil
1 lb. hamburger
1 small onion, finely chopped
1 – 1 1/2 c. frozen peas & carrots  (I actually use peas and corn because I don’t care for frozen carrots)
4 T. butter
4 T. flour
2 T. worcestershire sauce
2 c. beef broth (I don’t bother buying canned … just make up 2 cups of instant from granules), heated
1/2 bag (aprox) frozen tater tots (I use Crispy Crowns because I like the surface/potato ratio better than tots)

9″ x 9″ casserole dish, greased with cooking spray

1) Preheat oven to 350-degrees

2) Heat olive oil in a frying pan over medium heat. Brown hamburger for a few minutes, breaking it up as you cook. Add onions and saute together until onions are soft and hamburger is browned all the way through. Add peas & carrots, stir together with meat mixture, turn off heat and set aside.

3) Melt butter in a medium saucepan. Add flour to make a roux and cook a few minutes. Stir in worcestershire sauce. Add hot beef broth and wisk to make a smooth gravy. Add gravy to beef mixture and stir to combine.

4) Pour meat mixture in casserole dish. Arrange frozen tater tots on top of beef mixture.

5) Bake in 350-degree oven for 45 minutes – 1 hour, or until sauce is bubbling and tater tots are browned.

I think the next time I make this I will actually use ground turkey and make chicken gravy.  Just a tiny, tiny bit healthier, I suppose.  But it’s also like two recipes in one, which means I can make something crazy easy, but it doesn’t have to taste the same every time I make it.  And we could definitely use some variety in our meals.

Leave a Reply

