Hitting the slopes

I don’t ski, but if I did, I’d be ready!  Sat down today and whipped up a pair of snow pants.

I decided to make these because I love to ice skate and I love to go sledding.  They are warm, warm, warm!  The outer layer is waterproof windbreaker type fabric.  The lining is sweatshirt fabric.  In between those is a layer of Thermolam.  I’m prepared!  And look how great they look with my dirty winter coat:

I used a trusted PJ pant pattern and basically made two pairs of pants: one was the windbreaker/thermolam, the other was the sweatpants.  Stuck the sweatpants inside the windpants, wrong sides together and serged around all openings.  Folded edges over and added elastic.

I actually need to open up the waistband again at some point and shorten the elastic.  I’m not sure where on my body I measured, but it apparently wasn’t my waist.  I also left the cuffs open on the legs in case I wanted to add elastic later.  Not sure that will happen since the elastic was a bitch kitty to get in the waist.  All those layers made it slow going…

I had thought about making these pants reversible.  Once I decided to put the thermolam inside, however, I decided that I would probably never wear them with the sweatpant side out.  Which is a shame, because it’s pretty darn cute!

Let’s just hope that if I fall while skating, I’m the only one seeing stars…..

6 thoughts on “Hitting the slopes

  1. Rocketdog says:

    Dude, I want!! Actually, my snowpants are fine, if you overlook the fact that I have to unbutton them to tie my boots!
    One thought for the cuffs is to attach a separate cuff of windbreaker material with elastic at the bottom. You pull this over your boot to keep the snow out and the regular snowpant cuff goes over that and looks cute. Check out a pair of snowpants at target and you’ll get a better idea of what I mean. But it gives you elastic at the cuff without having to go through all those layers.
    The end 🙂

    Like

  2. You are such a geek. Heh. Love the lining. I have yet to make pants for myself due to my big ass booty. I may have to try something now that you have thrown down the pant gauntlet.

    Like

Leave a Reply

