Stuff I didn’t make…

…Thankfully.

I was pointed to a website today that features quilts that were judged to be the worst quilts in existence.  And it’s hilarious.  Take this, for example:

Titled: Keltic Sunrise

Here’s the text from the website:

Made of polyester double-knit, satin, brocade, corduroy, lace curtains, burlap, old diapers and four different kinds of fake fur, this masterpiece made most of the judges woozy.

Tied together visually with hand crocheted orange and yellow yarn as binding and with humongous 4-ply quilt stitches (and plenty of knots) throughout, this quilt is a tactile nightmare.

Yes, you read that right.  Fur.  I love it.

I slept with this amazing velvet quilt growing up that I hear was made from old theatre curtains.  The craftsmanship on that quilt was actually pretty good (though what would I know?  I made a quilt that probably could have won awards on this site), but I think the fact that it was once curtains would make many quilters cringe.  However, for me it was perfect, because the weight of the quilt (and it was hefty) translated into warmth for my little body.

I don’t quilt, but I do like to visit that world once in awhile.


2 thoughts on “Stuff I didn’t make…

Leave a Reply

