If you have kids…

Do you ever dream of what they will be when they grow up?  Do you get the inclination to lead them in a certain direction?  What if I told you there was a very good chance you could affect their future, without seeming like you’re nagging or pushing?lg-school_desk

At lunch today we got on the topic of childhood playthings.  My boss mentioned that her best friend growing up had a school desk and they always played school.  One breath later, she said “And I had a cardboard grocery store.  There I was, my first retail experience.”

play_grocery_store

I was completely joking, but I asked if her friend became a teacher.  Sure enough, she did.  I thought about it long and hard.  The only thing (aside from Barbies, Littlest Pet Shops, and My Little Ponies, which I consider universal and inconsequential) I had that was truly my own and not a hand-me-down was my sewing machine.  So now I sew.

I’m interested in whether this works for other people as well.  What did you play with as a kid?  What did you become when you grew up?

7 thoughts on “If you have kids…

  1. Rocketdog says:

    I played school with that big chalk board…but I was always more interested in grading papers and making class lists. Hmmm…
    Does this work for boys? Hubby played construction with his tonka trucks a lot…

    Like

    • DK says:

      Well, The Hippy played with computers. He was a total nerd as a kid–still is. But we’ll need more data.

      All I could think of with you was the desk we had–I forgot about the chalk board. It all makes perfect sense!

      Like

Leave a Reply

