Parties should be fun…

Right?

I had to attend two surprise parties this week.  I’m not really a party person, but I don’t hate them.  At least not when I know a few of the people there enough to hold a conversation with them.  But they can be kind of stressful when they’re placed on top of a full week of stuff and you have to cook something for them.  Now that everything is behind me, I can recognize that nothing was bad as I made it out to be.  I will admit that a small part of my stress might have come from the giant Pepsi I consumed.

I digress.  People don’t come here to read me complain about how stressed I am.  People come to see pictures of the yummy things they won’t get to eat.  How do marble cupcakes with mousse frosting sound?

dscn3105

Seriously kids, I love baking from scratch, but box mixes are your friend.  They’re cheap, they’re easy, and most importantly, they make delicious cakes.  They also make fabulous cookies.  Yup.

dscn3106

Maybe someday I will learn the art of cake decoration, but who cares, really?  They taste FAB.  The only way this frosting could be easier is if it were the jello I made for the second party.  Because I’m so generous–and because it’s not my original recipe–I will share this tasty little secret with my favorite readers.  If you’ve heard of this before, pretend to be surprised, because this was truly earth shattering for me…

1 pint whipping cream

1 box instant pudding

a little milk to thin

Whip these three up until they form a fluffy whipped cream.  The pudding thickens this quickly, so add the milk as you feel is necessary so it isn’t too dense.  Don’t whip for too long, or you’ll end up with butter.  Honestly, I someday want to whip it so far I get butter, because I think it would be great on bagels, but it would not be great for putting on cakes.

I didn’t think to take pictures of the jello I made because I was constantly on the move on Sunday, but I figure I should share that recipe as well.

1 cup applesauce

1 box green jello

1 cup lemon-lime soda

Heat the applesauce until just before it boils.  Or, if you’re like me, after it’s already boiled.  Stir in jello and soda and allow to chill.  That’s it.  The texture is so unreal.  There’s a very, very slight tingle from the soda.  The applesauce makes it a denser set, but it’s still the jiggly fun you’d expect from jello.  There’s just more mouth-appeal.  It looks a little weird–like, well, cloudy jello–but it tastes great.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to eat the remaining whipped cream.  Don’t judge.

2 thoughts on “Parties should be fun…

Leave a Reply

