Really?

While life has camped firmly between me and my blog, I decided to set down all the roman shades from which I am ripping stitches to tell this tale. It occurs to me as I write this that this whole conversation could be one old lady’s idea of a great April Fools joke. If this is the case, I applaud her. However, I do not underestimate the power of our clientele to believe the ridiculous.

3199096686_f27dc4e78c

Let me preface this…

I went to a school that put on a production of The Laramie Project (actually, I went to two schools that did). The lovely Fred Phelps sent his cronies to protest the play and the school.  Freddy believes that everything that’s wrong with this world can be blamed on homosexuals.  God is punishing us for accepting gays.

Now, onto today…

Woman to cashier:  You know what’s causing all these problems with the economy?

Cashier: *blank stare*

2179134215_41066482d3

WTC: All these problems are because women are working.  Women should be at home, and men should be working.  This is not how God intended it.  God is angry that women are working and has sent the devil in.  He’s taking away all the excess money caused by women working.

Cashier: *smilenod* That’ll be…

I guess I can see where this woman is coming from.  I see the problem as more of a chicken or the egg thing, and not as much just that women are working.  Women are working, in part, because of movements that gave us the right to work, not to mention wars that made it imperative we work.  On the other hand, I know many, many women (myself included) that wish they didn’t have to work just to stay afloat.  Let’s face it… movements gave us the right to work outside the home, but they didn’t do anything about the problem of all the work inside the home.

So I guess what I’m saying is that every woman should just stay home for awhile.  Then we’ll find out if things start turning around.  I think it could work.

2 thoughts on “Really?

  1. Rocketdog says:

    it if all the mommies stayed home, I wouldn’t have a job. Wait, but I’m a mommy and would already be home…..
    Oh… And your blog says it is already tomorrow…

    Like

Leave a Reply

