Baby Gets a New Bedroom

I had the honor of contributing to what I consider the world’s coolest nursery.  What I appreciate about this room is that it doesn’t scream baby, so the parents don’t have to redecorate at all as the child grows.  Provided the child isn’t, somehow, deathly afraid of travel.

Armoire with globe

Armoire with globe

The theme is the world, and the colors are brown, turquise, and orange.  The new mother has declared she’s quitting her job and going into interior design.   The clients are only allowed to have this room, however.

Crib wall

Crib wall

Some clients will get horizontal stripes.

Canvases featuring continents

Canvases featuring continents

My first input in the room was doing the second coats on some of these continents.  I also suggested the brown band around the edge, which makes them pop out from the wall.  It’s a subtle effect, but I think it works.

Curtains, sofa, chair, light pull

Curtains, sofa, chair, light pull

My second print on the room is the light pull.  I suggested orange with the disclaimer that it’s just paint.  If you don’t like it, paint over it.  She liked it.  That chair between the rocker and the sofa doesn’t belong there.  I used it to hang the curtains…

Curtain Close-Up

Curtain Close-Up

This is my nearly-final touch on the room.  I’m also lining the roman shades that came with the room/house, but those are worth photographing.  The fabric is a Christopher Lowell, which I was pleasantly surprised with.  It’s a good sturdy fabric that didn’t shed too much.  It wasn’t terribly hard to sew, either, and my machine handled it like a champ until it had to sew through six layers at once.  But who wouldn’t complain about that?

3 thoughts on “Baby Gets a New Bedroom

    • DK says:

      I do believe Larue is a fan of the CL fabrics. I think she got a little worried when I told her he was on his way out… It’s only a matter of time.

      Like

Leave a Reply

