Every Face a Different Shade

No, I’m not going to write about the inauguration of what I hope will be the greatest President of my life, because it’s not that I don’t care–I do, immensely–I just feel I’m better off writing about The Phantom of the Opera…

I was gleefully flying down the highway after work this afternoon–not something that happens often these days, but it was gorgeous out, we have a new president, and I got out of working on the truck today–and Masquerade came on my iPod.  I, of course, pretended I still have any operatic skills and sang my heart out.  Unfortunately for me, I started to think about the words:

Masquerade!
Paper faces on parade.
Masquerade!
Hide your face, so the world will never find you!
Masquerade!
Every face a different shade.
Masquerade!
Look around –
there’s another
mask behind you!

Flash of mauve.
Splash of puce.
Fool and king.
Ghoul and goose.
Green and black.
Queen and priest.
Trace of rouge.
Face of beast.
Faces.

Take your turn.
Take a ride.
On a merry – go – round
In an inhuman race.

Eye of gold.
Thigh of blue.
True is false.
Who is who?
Curl of lip.
Swirl of gown.
Ace of hearts.
Face of clown.
Faces.
Drink it in
Drink it up
’til you drown in the light.
In the sound.

Now… Is it just me, or are there a lot of colors listed there.  Let’s count: 6, plus the line about every face being a different shade.

But how does the movie portray the Masquerade scene?

186825839_3db95e5e24

Huh…  Weird.  There’s maybe a little gold in there.

Let’s look at the play, shall we?

masquerade-3-credit-joan-marcus-compressed

As the Hippy would say: “Sheh-shaw!”  Color, excitement, pizazz!  They actually look like they want to be there.  Awesome!

Don’t get me wrong; I view the movie and the play as two very different entities.  I understand that Andrew Lloyd Webber had a major hand in the movie, which is awesome.  But seriously.  Why make that scene so freaking boring?  Even the Phantom, which is supposed to be awesome and scary and magical, is freaking boring in the movie.  Compare:

red

play

movie

movie

ZZZZzzzzZZZZZzzzz–Sorry, I fell asleep there for a moment.  I guess I should be happy they even made a movie.  Even if parts of it are kind of…  laughable.  I get to enjoy it any time Rocketdog wants.  I don’t think I own it… I should probably dig through my DVDs before I embarrass myself 🙂  But the moral of this story is that Phantom is coming to the Twin Cities this spring, and I think I’m going to have to get myself tickets.  I smell a girl’s night.

3 thoughts on “Every Face a Different Shade

Leave a Reply

