Muzak

I have this thing about store music.  Even at its worst, I love having music play in my store.  When the music is absent, I feel at a loss.  If someone turns down the music in the break room, I turn it back up when no one is looking.  I think it has something to do with the fact that I don’t like silence.  I’ve been fighting this urge during the last week with the Hippy.  It’s not that I don’t want to talk to him, but I feel like if I’m working on something, there should be music playing.  Cleaning, building, sewing… whatever.  There should be music and talking.

I digress.

Store music.  My thing about store music is that if I happen into a store, and a song I consider special comes on, I feel as if I’m meant to be in that store at that moment.  I suddenly just realized why I never want to linger in Target.  No matter how awesome Target is, they sorely lack in making me feel special with their music.

I haven’t always had this feeling.  I only just (relatively) recently started noticing how this music makes me feel.  It began last year when I was at Liten Paper buying padded envelopes.  Normally I don’t get excited about The Twelve Days of Christmas (God, she’s talking about Christmas music again??  This is the last time this… post.  I swear.), but when I realized it was The Muppets and John Denver singing The Twelve Days of Christmas, it took every ounce of strength to not jump around with joy.  I did, however, linger in the store until the song ended, despite the fact that I was on my way to the checkout when it started.

Next was an impromptu trip to Burrlington Coat Factory a few months ago to find the most amazing boots I had seen online.  My store didn’t have them, but as I headed toward the lingerie department (I firmly believe nothing makes a girl happier than new undergarments, and I’m a sucker for fancy and novel… And dirt cheap), my beloved Blue October played on the radio.  That link leads to the video for the song that played.  I fell in love with it at work.  It plays on the fall/winter rotation which is far, far superior to the spring/summer rotation.  I just feel at peace when I hear that song.  And most other Blue October songs, which is why Blue October Radio on Pandora still remains my favorite.

The other day I went grocery shopping in my new locale.  I’m not fond of new things, especially when I have to drive to them.  Cub Foods has been winning me over lately purely by their selection of Malt-O-Meal cereals, but they also consistently have rockin’ music.  So maybe I shouldn’t have been surprised when She & Him started playing.  Click again for the video of the song, but I don’t recommend actually watching the video…  It’s a little on the disturbing side.  But hearing the song made me feel like that was where I was supposed to be at that moment.  It was slightly empowering.

Am I alone in this, or is store music just a nuisance for most people?

2 thoughts on “Muzak

  1. I LOVE shopping at Savers, especially because they have the best selection of 80’s music. Looking through endless racks of jeans is made just a bit brighter by singing along with Pat Benatar. And I do admit – I don’t usually notice the music in your store. Truly.

    Like

Leave a Reply

