52 Stash Clean-Up

Starting next week I will begin my New Year’s Resolution.  If I get things set up sooner, I will try to start before Sunday, but I’m not holding my breath.  My goal is this:  To make one item (at least) a week using only fabric from my stash.  Notions, of course, are fair game, but the fabric must be old.  I have many anticipated effects from this resolution.  I will hopefully save money since I won’t feel the need to buy more–it would go against the very nature of the resolution.  I will clean up my stash, and therefore simplify my life.  I will have a quaranteed blog post once a week.

dscn2968

To keep me on track, I really think I’m going to need a list.  I’ve started, briefly, thanks to my trusty notebook and lucky pen (stole it from The Hippy because it’s awesome… he got another one).  There will be repeats of items–I have a lot of fabrics for skirts, for example, and I have my new bag line planned which is perfect for this resolution.  I almost think I need a calendar–one of those giant desk calendars would be perfect.  I think it’s the only way I won’t let a week pass by without my noticing.  Having a set day to specifically work on the 52 Stash Clean-Up will help too.

I’m pretty sure if I accidentally miss a week I will need to make two the next.  Which means I need to make sure I don’t miss more than one week at a time!  Since I’m not cool enough to take true vacations, I’m pretty sure this won’t be too much of a problem.  During craft show time, it just means that I make products using my stash.  Perhaps gifts will also have to come from the stash, but I’m not sure if that’s tacky.

I think I might also keep track of how long I go without buying fabric.  It could be interesting to see if I make it more than a month.  Like dieting, I’d really like the output to be far greater than the input.  So… If anyone would like something made, feel free to dig through my stash.  I’ve got a lot of weeks to fill!

One thought on “52 Stash Clean-Up

Leave a Reply

