Urgent Care sucks…

I have Paronychia. Which is a really fun way of saying finger infection. I’m on antibiotics, but according to Target’s Clinic, it will never go away until a medical professional drains it. Which is why I was sent to urgent care. The urgent care doctor wasn’t convinced I needed to have my finger drained.

If I have to go back in a week to have it drained, I will cut someone.

I realize that the doctors in the urgent care clinic don’t want to be there. It’s part of their job working in a hospital. That does not, however, give them the right to just glance at my painfully angry finger and push me out the door with a prescription. Especially when I’m probably going to be charged nearly $200 for said visit. I have no idea how much insurance will cover; hopefully it’s all of it.

I still have long blog entries in my head, but it hurts to type, so they’ll have to wait until my finger isn’t filled with pus.

I toyed with the idea of taking a picture of my finger, but I’ll spare you. It’s not as bad as some of the pictures you can find on the internet, but it isn’t pretty. I keep it covered at work; I’m not sure if that’s good for the infection or making it worse. But I don’t want it to scare people, and I definitely don’t want it to start draining on its own and make a yucky mess.

Aren’t you glad you know me? I’m awesome, I know.

5 thoughts on “Urgent Care sucks…

  1. OW. I have the same thing, but in my toe. Which isn’t really the same thing, as it is in my foot and not my hand. Oh well. I am a little disappointed that you didn’t put “pus” in your tags, though.

    Hang in there. Thank you for not getting pus on the fabric.

    Like

  2. patty says:

    im sorry that happened to you!!!! i would go back and demand it be drained, and if they dont than ask for the hospital abministrator! an abscess has to be drained, antibiotics are not enough

    Like

Leave a Reply

