Cat-a-boo

My darling cat Lucy sometimes plays a very short version of peek-a-boo with me.

lucy-bathing1

She gets a little freaked out when something suddenly disappears, so I often duck below the edge of the bed she’s on or quick dip behind the doorway so I’m no longer in her sightline.  It doesn’t take long before I hear her make her way across the bed or thump to the floor in search of me.  It always ends with her rubbing up against me as if to say, “You’re mine, don’t you ever leave me again.”

But tonight Sluggy decided to play his own game of peek-a-boo with me.

grumpy-sleepy-sluggy

I stood up and faced his general direction, and he meowed at me.  I looked away, and when I looked back, he meowed again.  So I went to tell my mom that Sluggy was meowing weird at me, and when I went into the doorway, he meowed again.  I turned my back to him then turned to face him again, and again he meowed.  My mom kept looking at him while I alternated facing him and not.  Each time I turned to him, he meowed.  He probably did this a good twenty times before he gave up.  I’m not sure if he was frustrated because he wasn’t getting whatever it is he wanted, or if he was feeling sorry for how pathetic I looked (I’m half convinced he was toying with me).

dscn1668

Mister plays touch-a-boo.  He meows when someone touches him.  I don’t think it hurts, I think he’s just a crotchety old man on the inside.  He also meows when I meow at him–he answers me.  I’m not sure what we’re talking about, though I have a pretty good idea it has to do with food.

Leave a Reply

