And in the end…

I have officially given up on the idea of fall.  There was snow on the ground when I woke up this morning.  Granted, it has since melted, but it’s bitter and wet out, and it’s been alternating between rain and snow all day.

It’s certainly a hot chocolate type of day.  It’s also a very tired type of day.  These last couple of weeks I’ve been trying to balance working early mornings and still getting to talk to The Hippy.  He doesn’t get home until after 9 most nights, and ideally my bedtime would be 10.  But lately it’s been 11 or 12.  And tomorrow I need to get up equally as early for a craft sale.  I’m at my breaking point sleep-wise.  I couldn’t stay asleep last night, and I’ve been feeling it all day.  Unfortunately, I’m not a napper.  I’m really good at sleeping when I’m not supposed to be–movie watching, reading a book, over at Rocketdog’s, knitting…  But when the lights go out and my head hits the pillow, I feel like my bed is made entirely of bricks and my knee bones have been replaced with spikes.

I want so desperately to just say “You know what?  I love you and I miss you terribly, but if you wake me up tonight, I might kill you.”  But I’m a pushover.  He’ll wake me, and I’ll get up to chat with him.  Because I love him and I miss him terribly.  It wouldn’t be a huge deal, but I have to bowl tonight.  It’s not as if I can spend a quiet evening laying around napping a bit here, there, and everywhere.

So instead of napping, I’m sitting here watching Paula Deen make this recipe (and this one too!) and contemplating making some popcorn and hot chocolate.  It’s a hot chocolate day, y’all.

ETA: I just re-read this, and had absolutely no idea while I was writing it that I wrote it’s a hot chocolate day at the beginning AND the end.  I told you it was also a tired day.

Leave a Reply

