September is National Sewing Month

And since there’s only one day of September left, I figured I should feature something I’ve sewn.  I would like to say that I made myself something (as opposed to sewing for “work”) in honor of said sewing month, but I really did it because I was tired of having the fleece sitting around on my craft table.

I found this amazing fleece, and after a little encouragement I decided to get it and make a jacket.  Since it’s a little on the… outrageous side, I decided the jacket should be reversible.

This is McCall’s M5252, selection C.  I modified the heck out of the length–rather haphazardly I might add–partially because I’m freakishly short, and partially because I accidentally bought enough fabric for a CHILD’S size jacket and not adult.  I mean, I knew I could get more, but I wanted to try to make it work, and make it work I did.

Until I tried to do the reverse.

It doesn’t look… terrible, I suppose.  But it looks handmade.  The interlock I chose for the reverse wasn’t as forgiving as the fleece, so wherever there were too many layers (specifically the pocket area around the zipper), everything started to go wonky.  It’s not as noticable in the photo, but the stitching gets really weird and snakey.  Then there was the little matter of my serger turning the chest into a wavey sea of stitches.  So I will probably never wear the “normal” side.  I’m just not thrilled with it.

But I love the elephant side, haha.  I got a ton of compliments at work, and my boyfriend didn’t make fun of it.  I think it passes the test.  And it’s CRAZY warm.  I finished it just in time for “below average” weather to set in.

One thought on “September is National Sewing Month

Leave a Reply

