Here’s to the night

It’s almost 2am, and I can’t sleep, so I decided to reclaim my craft table. Some months ago it was taken over by a very messy gremlin, and I just decided it was easier to let it happen.

Craft table

I don’t know why, but I find it impossible to put something back where it belongs. It’s a bit of a chicken or the egg problem, but I either stopped bothering finding homes for tools because I knew they would never go back, or I never put things back because I don’t know how to make homes. I find organizing my craft space to be incredibly overwhelming, and I do it in small chunks. This leaves many tools homeless, and they end up scattered on my floor or my craft table.

When it gets really bad, I find myself completely incapable of creating. At a time where I am trying to plow forward with my brand, I need to get rid of as many roadblocks as possible. I have my Etsy store to keep filled, a brick and mortar consignment shop to supply, and a December craft fair to participate in. I have bags and journals and cuffs to make, not to mention the headbands (of which I currently have just shy of a ton) and a collaborative effort on coffee cup cozies. I can’t short change myself with my organizing deficiencies.

If I want to be successful, I have to dress for it, right? Well, then, I imagine the same goes for my “studio.” I have to treat my space like it will create successes.

3 thoughts on “Here’s to the night

  1. Rocketdog says:

    But I’ve discovered that when you need to find a tool in the mess you call your “work space” is usually a good time for me to look through your books. 🙂
    Besides, I thought all successful studios were strewn with clothing!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

